## **Ethical Conduct in Human Research and Related Activities Regulations**

### **Appendix 2 Delegated Ethics Committees**

Section 6(1) of the Ethical Conduct in Human Research and Related Activities Regulations states as follows:

- (1) A staff member, student or authorised person must not commence research or a related activity until it has been approved by the appropriate authority and in accordance with these regulations.
- (2) Researchers must submit applications for approval for their research or related activity to one of the delegated Division/Faculty/School committees (section 22) within the University.

# Approved delegated committees are as follows:

### **Division, Faculty or School**

- 1. Te Wānanga o Ngā Kete Division of Arts, Law, Psychology and Social Sciences (ALPSS)
- 2. Te Wānanga Pūtaiao Division of STEM
- 3. Division of Health
- 4. Te Wānanga Toi Tangata Division of Education
- 5. Te Pua Wānanga ki te Ao Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies (FMIS)
- 6. Te Raupapa Waikato Management School (WMS)

# **Terms of Reference for Delegated Committees Rationale**

The University of Waikato Human Research Ethics Committee is responsible to the Academic Board for the promotion, review and monitoring of ethical practice in human research, and for monitoring compliance with the University's Ethical Conduct in Human Research and Related Activities Regulations which are published in the University Calendar.

The University of Waikato Human Research Ethics Committee gives authority to (*delegated committee name*) Human Research Ethics Committee to undertake specific responsibilities through the Terms of Reference as detailed below.

#### **Terms of Reference**

- To facilitate high quality research, teaching, consulting. Evaluation and publication which conform with the Ethical Conduct in Human Research and Related Activities Regulations.
- 2. To inform and educate staff and students about the Ethical Conduct in Human Research and Related Activities Regulations and their application.
- To arrange for the timely consideration of proposals involving human participants prior to the commencement of the research or related activities, to ensure that these comply with the principles and policies adopted by the Academic Board and are defensible in terms of current debate within the relevant discipline or paradigms.
- 4. To establish procedures to implement University policy where there are research or related activities with participants.
- 5. To maintain records of research and related activities with participants in (*Division/Faculty/School*).
- 6. To provide an annual report on its research and related activities to the University of Waikato Human Research Ethics Committee.

#### Constitution

(Detail how members are appointed and in what positions)

New members are appointed by the Divisional PVC. External members are appointed by the Chair of the HREC.

#### 2025 Membership

- 1. Professor Roger Moltzen (Chairperson)
- 2. Dr Amy Bird (Te Wānanga o Ngā Kete Division of Arts, Law, Psychology and Social Sciences)
- 3. Dr Pamela Vale (Te Wānanga Toi Tangata Division of Education)
- 4. Associate Professor Brett Langley (Te Wānanga Pūtaiao Division of Science, Engineering and Computing)
- 5. Dr Yang Hu (Te Raupapa Waikato Management School)
- 6. Associate Professor Moana Waitoki (Te Pua Wānanga ki te Ao Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Studies)
- 7. Dr Simon Shingler (external medical representative)
- 8. Associate Professor Armon Tamatea (Clinical Psychologist) 9. Dr Ruth Walker (Ethicist)
- 10. Nandana Menon (Student Representative)
- 11. Dr Gail Hutcheson (Work Integrated Learning)

Secretary: Ms Lois Vuursteen (Research & Enterprise)